top of page

Change of plan: Plan your Steps, Not your Timing

Exam season is way underway and since the half term holidays have blessed us with its presence, I’ve got something new for you to try out to change your revision game without messing everything up.


Tell me, how many times have you told yourself ‘I want to revise more’ then decided on how much longer you should be spending on your revision? Many of us create timetables and schedules for us to fit in when we will revise. But did we ever stick to them? I don’t know about you, but I never did. One reason why I never did was because I didn’t have the motivation to study because I hadn’t planned what I was going to do during that session.


So, to deal with the ‘I planned on studying more but didn’t actually stick to it’ situation, here’s what you need to do: stop telling yourself to study more. Instead, plan what you need to study. If you figure out what you need to do as part of your study session, you won’t have to keep your eye on the clock. You’ll have a clearer idea of what you are dealing with and how to deal with it, keeping you busy just the way you want. When you do that, time will deal with itself and pass by faster than you’d imagine.


Rather than creating a timetable where you plan out your time, create a table or a checklist on revision tasks or methods. For example, as a psychology student, my check list would look like this for each unit:

  1. Blurt everything you know about the unit

  2. Go through your notes and see what you got wrong or missed out

  3. Compress all the information into a mind-map

  4. Do some practice questions specific to that entire unit

  5. Do some past papers that contain questions on that unit.


You could tick off the tasks you have completed and will be able to see what you have left to do. If you want to use the Pomodoro technique, go for it, but you’ll find that time will now pass on its own accord and you can spend as long or as little on your revision, as long as you are doing it right because you are no longer shackled to time periods.


That’s all from me today. I’ll see you in my next post! Now change that revision plan a little ;)







Comments


bottom of page