top of page

5 Apps That Helped Me Remain Productive

It's been a long academic year for me and last week, which was also my last week at school, was pretty hectic, so I decided to go easy on everyone with a nice short, simple post this time sharing 5 apps that helped me remain productive, all of which I only discovered their powers (or existence) this year. These apps are: Notion, LifeAt, Flora, Calendar, and Notes.


Notion

I use Notion for more than 1 thing. It's recommended by pretty much every productivity YouTuber out there and I'm here to recommend it too because this is an app that is actually amazing. I use it for planning, tracking, keeping information to do with my classes and occasionally journalling. There is so much more you can do with the app: there are people who use it to run their business or create websites, which is what makes it great. It is simple to use with so many functions and features.


LifeAt

This was recommended to me by my friends and I've loved it ever since. It doesn't have an app compatible on certain devices, but its website works on whatever device you use. This platform is a space to help you focus, combining a pretty background, soothing sounds, To Do lists, calendars, Pomodoro timers and more on 1 platform. Other than the wide range of backgrounds you can pick, I love the fact that you can study with friends by joining their rooms; if your friends or family can't join your room, there are many public rooms you can join where you can work alongside thousands of people from around the world at the same time!


Flora

Flora is only currently available as a mobile app, but that doesn't make it any less amazing. You can set yourself a timer and grow your own tree as you work. If you use your phone as the timer is still ticking, the plant you are growing will die and to further make sure that you won't waste any time, you can place a sum of money that you'll have to pay if you kill your tree. All donations go towards growing more trees in real life. In addition, others can join your room so that you are all working at the same time and have a collective responsibility to keep the tree alive (if one person kills the tree, everyone's tree dies). There's also a feed - a little like social media - to see how long each person's been working and what plant they grew as a result.


Calendar

The calendar app is a treasure hidden in plain sight. I use it to plan my day or keep track of how I spent it so that I have an overview on how my time's being spent. Using the calendar helps you see how long you take to do certain tasks and stops you from procrastinating or time wasting as you can now visualise what you need to do and when. Another bonus for me is that whenever I look back on a day, I can see exactly what I did on that day and at what time, which I find really cool.


Notes

For me, this is the Apple Notes app, but any notes app will do (again, Notion can do this). I use Notes to take down information and store them for later use or because I found it really interesting. Also, it serves as a pocket journal where you can blurt any ideas that suddenly pop into your head for the future. Anyone can use a notes app, but you can only benefit from this if you have a certain system put in place so that you can organise your notes better and navigating them is much easier.



All of the mentioned apps are free to use, though some of them may have some perks that you must pay for. They can all be found on the App Store and I hope that they are very beneficial to you all, just as how beneficial they were to me. If you use any of these apps or have something else you use to boost your productivity, be sure to mention it and your experiences in the comments below!


That's all from me today. I'll see you in my next post. Enjoy these tools! ;)






Comments


bottom of page