top of page

Writing Properly


For those who don't know me, I love writing. It is my passion. I live and breathe literature. My best friend would probably be a book (though I still haven't found the one). No matter how advanced this world gets, we will still need to read and write... unless your phone will end up talking to you to guide you through your settings.


But I can't say that my passion for reading and writing prevented me from ever writing badly so when my dad sent me David Oglivy's 10 Tips on Writing, I did take it a little personally, only for the tips to resonate with me every time I ever wrote anything after that. They're as follows (along with a little comment from me):



1. Read the Roman-Raphaelson book on writing. Read it three times.

Don't ask me about the book. I haven't read either.


2. Write the way you talk. Naturally.

I try to do this every time I write. That's why I just write what I think, whatever comes to mind that very moment gets noted.


3. Use short words, short sentences and short paragraphs.

No matter how intellectual you are, no one wants to see blocks of useless writing, including us writers.


4. Never use jargon words like reconceptulize, demassification, attitudinally, judgementally.

I didn't know what 'jargon' means so I searched it up. In case you don't know either, it's 'special words or expressions used by a profession or group that are difficult for others to understand.' (Source: Oxford Dictionary)

I couldn't agree more, but the only time I'd go against this rule is in a debate.


5. Never write too many pages on any subject. No more than 2 pages.

Especially now that we are in an age where everyone's attention span is much shorter, this is important to remember.


6. Check your quotations.

Please do! No one likes it when they don't get the credit they are due.


7. Never send a letter or a memo on the day you write it. Read it aloud the next morning – and then edit it.

I'd be lying if I said I don't apply this rule to this blog. You never know what mistakes you might have, if the writing is lacking or if there's too much in it. reading it straight after you write it doesn't help spot big issues.


8. If it is something important, get a colleague to improve it.

Students know this only too well. I'm now wondering who wouldn't do this?


9. Before you send a letter or a memo, make sure it is crystal clear what you want the recipient to do.

(It's actually part of my personality to like clear instructions. The thing is, I still have to remind myself of this whenever I write.)


10. If you want action, don't write. Go and tell the person what you want.

Unless if they aren't in the same building as you I would have probably sent numerous messages instead.




These rules were actually written on how to write a good email and sent to everyone in his company because of how tired he had gotten from receiving bad emails, however, there is no doubt that it applies to all sorts of writing.


Let's see how much your writing improves from now on and if it doesn't, at least this will pop into your mind every time you do write.




Here's a poster-like version I made:



I'll see you in my next post! Take care :)

Comentarios


bottom of page