top of page

Quote of the Month: July 2024

“I don’t want to survive - I want to live!” - Captain B. McCrea (Wall-e)

This quote comes from the captain of the spacecraft that humanity lives on in the film Wall-e. It came across as a surprise, hearing something so meaningful in a kids movie, but the character is right. Sometimes the way we live is just a way of getting by day by day. We call it living when it’s more like surviving. Living has so much more meaning and purpose to it. We live when we go through emotions and appreciate life, making the most of every little bit. But the problem is not everyone really lives.


When we ask someone how they are doing, the answer is often ‘fine’ or ‘good’; it’s never ‘great’ or anything else because we are not living our life to the fullest. We get caught up in work, we get by, we ‘survive’, but from time to time, we should live.


So, how do we live?


Firstly, be present. Enjoy the now and appreciate everything, including the little things. That’ll bring you so much joy immediately. Really reflect on things so that you can immerse yourself into the moment.


Secondly, enrich your life by doing things you enjoy. If you enjoy it then it is bound to make you feel more content, making life feel better overall. Then you’ll notice that the feeling of needing to just survive is gone!


Thirdly, try new experiences. These will form all sorts of new memories that you will hold dear with you. Trying new things will open your eyes to things you haven’t considered before and will broaden your understanding of the world. You can do this by trying new foods, a new hobby, and meeting new people.


Since I’ve finished my exams, I’ve found myself with more time on my hands than I’ve ever imagined. So I’m learning a new language and learning new skills and I’m really enjoying it. Now that it’s the summer, a lot of people are going to be holiday, so they have more time to themselves - making now the perfect time to start trying new things. The perfect time to start living, after all “I don’t want to survive - I want to live!”


That’s all from me today. I’ll see you in my next post! Time for an adventure! ;)




Comments


bottom of page