top of page

You Think You Know Me - Book Review


The front cover of the book containing the title 'You Think You Know Me' and a cartoon of the protagonist.

Book Title: You Think You Know Me

Author: Ayaan Mohamud


Synopsis:

Hanan is a teenage girl going to a predominantly white Sixth Form. She stands out in more that one way: her race, way of dressing, and, most importantly, her faith, make her stick out like a sore thumb. Naturally, she is subjected to Islamophobia, but doesn’t say anything so that she doesn’t cause any trouble. After 6 years of letting the prejudice and discrimination slide, things take a turn when she is made the villain because of her faith after the stabbing of a former employee of the school near by. A former employee who showed her kindness she could never forget. She can’t stay silent and be the quiet good girl anymore. It’s time for her to stand up for herself.


Rating: 5/5

Why I rate it that:

It’s absolutely beautiful! As a Muslim teen in London around Hanan's age with many Somali friends, I was able to picture us all in Hanan's place. The sad thing was just how easy it was to imagine us all there.


The author captured the islamophobia many experience really well; but how they captured the media's reaction was perfect. Since it's a novel, you kind of hope that other characters see at the end what's wrong with society, but the book's based off real life and we are a long way from cohabiting that peacefully.


I loved reading T.H.U.G so when I saw this I HAD to read it and I'm so glad I did. I will definitely be recommending the book to others and I'll remember it as one of my favourite books and one of the only ones that made me smile, pout, laugh, and cry as I read it late into the night, refusing to put it down and go to sleep!


Do I Recommend it?: Definitely! This is something that impacts society massively and is an ongoing problem today. I feel that, whilst it doesn’t represent everyone’s experience with islamophobia, it’s a great way to start and get to know what it is like being Muslim today, and for those who are already Muslim, it will bring great comfort to you knowing that you’re not alone.

Комментарии


bottom of page